RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Llama Pavilion

To the west of the Arsenal pavilion, by, you can see the ruins of the Llama Pavilion that was destroyed during the Second World War.

Adam Menelaws built the pavilion in the Landscape Park (the Alexander Park) in 1820–22 specially for the llamas that Emperor Alexander I had received as a gift from South America. Apart from the stable and an indoor exercise area there was also a fodder store and quarters for the service personnel. All these buildings were interconnected and formed a square complex together with the enclosed inner yard.

The dominant element of the ensemble was the tall three-tier tower rising above the main building with rusticated corners and a distinctive crenellated parapet. It contained living quarters. At the opposite corner in 1860 Ippolito Monighetti constructed a “photographic cabinet”. For a time the photographer Charles Bergamasco and the grand dukes used it as a photographic laboratory.

Under Nicholas II fallow deer brought from southern Mongolia in 1907 were kept in the exercise hall. In the early twentieth century the rooms for the service personnel were converted into apartments for the park wardens.

See on Map

The Llama Pavilion
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Руины Ламского павильона

К западу от павильона «Арсенал», у Ламского пруда видны руины Ламского павильона, разрушенного в годы Великой Отечественной войны.

Павильон был построен в 1820–1822 годах А. А. Менеласом специально для содержания лам, присланных в подарок императору Александру I из Южной Америки. Помимо конюшни и манежа для животных здесь были устроены склад фуража и квартиры для обслуживающего персонала. Все эти здания были связаны между собой и составляли вместе с замкнутым внутренним двором единый квадратный в плане комплекс.

Доминантой ансамбля являлась высокая трехъярусная башня с рустованными углами и характерным зубчатым парапетом, в которой располагались жилые покои. Башня возвышалась над зданием, к противоположному углу которого И. А. Монигетти пристроил в 1860 году Фотографический кабинет. Некоторое время фотограф Ш. Бергамаско и великие князья использовали его как фотолабораторию.

При императоре Николае II в манеже содержались лани, привезенные в 1907 году из Южной Монголии. В помещениях для обслуживающего персонала в начале XX века были устроены квартиры для парковых сторожей.

Руины Ламского павильона
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта