RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Crimson and Green Pilaster Rooms

When decorating the halls of the Great Palace of Tsarskoye Selo (the Catherine Palace) Rastrelli strove to make the interiors as varied as possible. In finishing the adjoining Crimson and Green Pilaster Rooms the architect made use of some materials that were original for the time: on the walls lined with white damask he placed pilasters containing clear glass backed by red or green metallic foil, hence the names of the two rooms.

In the Crimson Pilaster Room visitors’ attention is drawn by the stove whose tiles are decorated with little scenes featuring personages in eighteenth-century costume and by the ceiling painting of The Clemency of Alexander the Great by an unknown late-seventeenth-century Italian artist. Up until the war the ceiling featured a composition by Luca Giordano (1632–1705): A Youth Lifted by Mercury Who is Addressing Minerva as She Stands on Clouds. In the centre of the room is a card-table and on it a unique eighteenth-century Chinese-made chess set with a board inlaid with mother-of-pearl and carved ivory figures. The room also contains a secretaire made by the German master craftsman Abraham Roentgen (1711–1793) – a rare example of inlaid furniture in the feathery Rococo style typical of the products of his celebrated workshop from 1765 into the 1770s.

Under Catherine II the Green Pilaster Room served as a pantry for the storage of table silver and porcelain and for that reason part of it was separated off by a screen made in the Gothic style in the 1770s. When the hall was being restored after its destruction during the Second World War it was decided not to recreate the partition and to give the Green Pilaster Room back the appearance conceived by Rastrelli. The ceiling of this room was at one time adorned by a painting entitled A Resting Military Commander Harkens to the Call of the Muses created by the eighteenth-century Italian artist Luvici Torelli. Now its place is occupied by a composition on the same subject created by the artist Valery Lednev on the basis of pre-war photographs.

The Crimson and Green Pilaster Rooms
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Малиновая и Зеленая Столбовые

Оформляя залы Большого Царскосельского дворца, Ф.-Б. Растрелли стремился к максимальному разнообразию архитектурно-декоративного решения его интерьеров. В отделке двух расположенных одна за другой Малиновой и Зеленой Столбовых зодчий применил оригинальные для того времени материалы: затянутые белым штофом стены он украсил прозрачными стеклянными пилястрами — «столбами», с подложенной под стекло малиновой и зеленой фольгой, которые и дали название комнатам.

В Малиновой Столбовой привлекают внимание печь, изразцы которой украшены сценами с персонажами в костюмах XVIII века, и живописный плафон «Милосердие Александра Македонского» работы неизвестного итальянского живописца конца XVII века. До войны потолок украшала композиция Л. Джордано (1632–1705) «Юношу восхищает Меркурий, обращающийся к Минерве, стоящей на облаках». В центре зала — ломберный стол с уникальным шахматным гарнитуром китайской работы XVIII столетия (доска инкрустирована перламутровыми пластинками, резные фигуры выполнены из кости). Здесь же находится секретер, выполненный немецким мастером-мебельщиком А. Рентгеном (1711–1793), — один из редких образцов наборной мебели в стиле «перистого рокайля», характерном для изделий знаменитой мастерской 1765–1770-х годов.

Зеленая Столбовая при Екатерине II служила буфетной, в которой хранились столовое серебро и фарфор, поэтому часть помещения была отгорожена ширмой, выполненной в 1770-х годах в «готическом» стиле. При реставрации зала, уничтоженного во время Великой Отечественной войны, было принято решение не восстанавливать перегородку и вернуть Зеленой Столбовой тот облик, который был задуман Ф.-Б. Растрелли. Потолок столбовой некогда украшал живописный плафон «Отдыхающий полководец внемлет призыву муз», исполненный итальянским художником XVIII века Л. Торелли. Ныне его место занимает композиция на этот же сюжет, воссозданная художником В. А. Ледневым по довоенным фотографиям.

Малиновая и Зеленая Столбовые
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта