RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The State Study of Alexander I

The Vaulted Passage Room gives access to the State (or Marble) Study of the Catherine Palace that was created for the Emperor to Stasov’s design in 1817 and intended for important official audiences.

The striking architectural treatment of the interior is underlined by the austere simplicity of the decoration. The entrance has been given the form of a deep semicircular niche separated from the main space of the room by two Ionic columns. A similar device has been used on the opposite wall where two Ionic columns flank the marble fireplace. The walls of the study are faced with light pink artificial marble, hence its alternative name.

The original finishing work on the study was carried out by the artist Fridolino Toricelli (the painted frieze with ancient trophies and putti; narrative compositions from the story of Cupid and Psyche); the sculptor Ferdinand Triscornia (the fireplace), the craftsman Shchennikov (marble on the walls), Tarasov (parquet and mahogany doors) and Franz Grosse (mahogany furniture set to Stasov’s designs).

In 1821-22 Stasov oversaw the restoration of the study after the fire. The marble-work at that time was done by Blokhin and the painting was restored by Brandukov, while new furniture was made from Persian walnut in the workshop of Andrei Tur.

The serious damage inflicted on the study during the Second World War (the marble and the murals suffered badly; the parquet and almost all the furniture were lost) made new restoration work necessary. Finally in 1974 the State Study was presented to visitors looking as it did before.

Today the room contains an impressive vase produced at the Imperial Porcelain Factory and decorated with a depiction of Alexander I entering Paris in 1814 and a mantel clock incorporating a bronze figure of Julius Caesar, made by Lucien-François Feuchère (no later than 1817). Displayed on the Emperor’s desk are personal possessions of his made from Urals malachite in the first quarter of the nineteenth century at the Peterhof Lapidary Works: a writing set, a table lamp, a few paperweights, candelabra and decorative vases.
 

The State Study of Alexander I
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Парадный кабинет Александра I

Из Сводчатой проходной можно пройти в Парадный (Мраморный) кабинет императора, созданный по проекту В. П. Стасова в 1817 году и предназначавшийся для важных официальных аудиенций.

Эффектное архитектурное решение кабинета подчеркивается строгой простотой отделки. Вход трактован в виде глубокой полукруглой ниши, отделенной от основного пространства интерьера двумя колоннами ионического ордера. Подобным образом оформлена и противоположная входу стена: две ионические полуколонны обрамляют мраморный камин. Стены кабинета облицованы светло-розовым искусственным мрамором, с которым и связано его второе название.

В первоначальной отделке Парадного кабинета участвовали живописец Ф. Торичелли (роспись фриза с античными трофеями и фигурами путти; сюжетные композиции из «Истории Амура и Психеи»), скульптор Ф. Трискорни (камин), а также мастера Я. Щенников (мраморная отделка стен), А. Тарасов (паркет и двери красного дерева) и Ф. Гроссе (мебельный гарнитур красного дерева по эскизам В. П. Стасова).

В 1821–1822 годах В. П. Стасов руководил восстановлением кабинета после пожара. Мраморную отделку реставрировал тогда мастер П. Блохин, росписи воссоздавал художник Ф. Брандуков, а новая мебель из персидского ореха была изготовлена в мастерской А. И. Тура.

Значительные разрушения, нанесенные кабинету во время Великой Отечественной войны (сильно пострадали мрамор и росписи, паркет и почти вся мебель погибли), потребовали новых реставрационных работ. Наконец, в 1974 году Парадный Кабинет предстал перед посетителями в прежнем виде.

Ныне в кабинете находятся изготовленная на Императорском фарфоровом заводе ваза с росписью, изображающей въезд Александра I в Париж в 1814 году, и каминные часы с бронзовой фигурой Юлия Цезаря, созданные (не позднее 1817) мастером Л.-Ф. Фешером. На рабочем столе императора экспонируются принадлежавшие ему изделия из уральского малахита, выполненные в первой четверти XIX века на Петергофской гранильной фабрике: письменный прибор, настольная лампада, несколько пресс-папье, канделябры и декоративные вазы

Парадный кабинет Александра I
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта