RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Great Hall

The Great Hall or Bright Gallery, as it was called in the eighteenth century, is the largest state room in the palace. It was created to Rastrelli’s design between 1752 and 1756. The stylish hall with a floor area of over 800 square metres was intended as the venue for official receptions and celebrations, banquets, balls and masquerades.

The hall occupies the whole width of the palace and has windows on both sides. In summer the interior is filled with light that plays across the gilding throughout the day. In the evening 696 candles, framed by mirrors, illuminate the Bright Gallery. The sumptuous Baroque decoration creates an illusion of boundless space: the alternation of large windows and mirrors visually expands the hall, while the image on the ceiling, framed by a painted colonnade, extends the space upwards.

The sculptural and ornamental carving that covers the walls of the Great Hall in a single continuous pattern was produced by 130 Russian woodcarvers working from sketches by Rastrelli and models by the decorative sculptor Johann Franz Duncker. The carved décor is especially sumptuous on the end walls that are adorned by compositions featuring many figures.

The original ceiling painting was made in 1752–54 from a sketch by Giuseppe Valeriani (1708–1762), a distinguished Venetian decorative artist who came to Russia at the invitation of Rastrelli. He was assisted by Antonio Peresinotti (1708–1778) and a number of Russian artists – the Belsky and Firsov brothers, S. Ivanov, N. Afanasyev, B. Sukhodolsky, G. Kozlov, I. Vasilyev and M. Sergeyev. The painting incorporated three separate compositions: an Allegory of Russia, an Allegory of Peace and an Allegory of Victory.

In the 1790s deformation of the ceiling led to Valeriani’s painting being removed to the palace storerooms. In 1856–58 the artists Fiodor Wunderlich and Enrico Francioli produced a new composition: An Allegorical Depiction of Science, Art and Industry that praised the achievements of contemporary Russia. That painting perished by fire during the war.

In 1953–54, during restoration work on St Michael’s Castle in St Petersburg, the side parts of Valeriani’s ceiling painting – the Allegory of Peace and Allegory of Victory that had been considered lost – were rediscovered. Thanks to that find, it was decided to recreate the ceiling decoration in its original form, returning the two surviving elements to the Catherine Palace. The recreation of the central part was aided by the existence of so me rough sketches by Valeriani and his description of the composition with an interpretation of all the allegories plus a drawing made by Stakenschneider in 1857, when the ceilings in several of the state rooms were redecorated to designs by the court architect. The project was tackled by a team of restoration artists led by Ya.A. Kazakov. In both scale and complexity this task was unparalleled in world restoration practice. The patterned parquet of the light-oak and bog-oak floor that burnt during the war was recreated from Rastrelli’s original designs and a surviving fragment.

The Great Hall
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Большой зал

Большой зал, или Светлая галерея, как его называли в XVIII веке, — самое большое парадное помещение дворца, созданное по проекту архитектора  Ф.-Б. Растрелли в 1752–1756 годах. Этот нарядный зал площадью более 800 квадратных метров предназначался для проведения официальных приемов и торжеств, парадных обедов, балов и маскарадов.

Окна Большого зала, занимающего всю ширину дворца, выходят на обе его стороны. Летом интерьер пронизан солнечным светом, играющим на позолоте в течение всего дня, вечером Светлую галерею освещают 696 свечей, обрамляющих зеркала. Элементы пышного барочного декора создают иллюзию безграничного пространства: чередование больших окон с зеркалами зрительно расширяет границы зала, а плафон, окруженный живописной колоннадой, раскрывает пространство в высоту.

Скульптурная и орнаментальная резьба Большого зала, сплошным узором покрывающая плоскости стен, была выполнена по эскизам Ф.-Б. Растрелли и моделям скульптора-декоратора И.-Ф. Дункера 130 русскими резчиками. Особенно пышный резной декор получили торцовые стены, украшенные многофигурными композициями.

Первоначальный живописный плафон был написан в 1752–1754 годах по эскизу Д. Валериани (1708–1762), известного венецианского художника-декоратора, приехавшего в Россию по приглашению Ф.-Б. Растрелли. Его помощником выступил А. Перезинотти (1708–1778), а также русские художники А. И. и Е. И. Бельские, И. И. и П. И. Фирсовы, С. Иванов, Н. Афанасьев, Б. Суходольский, Г. Козлов, И. Васильев и М. Сергеев. Плафон состоял из трех самостоятельных композиций, изображающих «Аллегорию России», «Аллегорию Мира» и «Аллегорию Победы».

В 1790-х годах из-за деформации перекрытия плафон Валериани сняли и перенесли в дворцовые кладовые, а в 1856–1858 годах художники Ф. Вундерлих и Э. Франчуоли создали новую композицию «Аллегорическое изображение Науки, Искусства и Трудолюбия», прославляющую достижения современной им России. Этот плафон погиб в огне пожара во время войны.

В 1953–1954 годах при реставрации Михайловского замка в Санкт-Петербурге были обнаружены боковые части плафона Валериани — «Аллегория Мира» и «Аллегория Победы», считавшиеся утраченными. Благодаря этой находке было решено воссоздать плафон в первоначальном виде, вернув в Екатерининский дворец две сохранившиеся живописные композиции. Возрождению центральной части плафона послужили сохранившиеся наброски и описание композиции с расшифровкой всех аллегорий, сделанные Валериани, а также рисунок, выполненный А. И. Штакеншнейдером в 1857 году, когда по эскизам придворного зодчего создавалось новое оформление потолков в нескольких залах парадной анфилады. Над воссозданием плафона Большого зала работали художники-реставраторы под руководством Я. А. Казакова. По сложности и масштабу эта работа не имела аналогов в мировой реставрационной практике. По авторским чертежам Ф.-Б. Растрелли и сохранившемуся фрагменту был восстановлен сгоревший во время войны наборный паркет из мореного и светлого дуба.

Большой зал
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта