RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Painting Study

In 1781–83 “Her Highness’s Dressing-Room” that Neyelov had created for Grand Duchess Natalia Alexeyevna was divided by a wooden partition in accordance with a project by Charles Cameron to produce two small studies for Grand Duchess Maria Fiodorovna in the Catherine Palace. The first of them was intended as a place for her to paint and became known as the Painting Study; in the second the Grand Duchess fashioned models and carved ivory and it became the Sculpture Study.

The golden yellow tone and gilded ornament of the walls in the Painting Study and also the decoration of the doors have survived from the late eighteenth century. The groin vault, lunettes and frieze were painted anew during the restoration after the 1820 fire by the artist Dmitry Antonelli (1791–1842) working from sketches by Stasov.

The walls of the Painting Study bear the compositions Spring and Autumn by Pierre Charles Trémolière (1703–1739) and also medallions that once adorned the Dressing Room of Catherine II – bouquets of flowers by an unknown artist of the second half of the eighteenth century. The quilt-maple armchairs were made in Andrei Tur’s St Petersburg workshop to Stasov’s design and painted by the artist Giuseppe Bernasconi. On the table is a “miracle” lamp made of bronze and mother-of-pearl in the St Petersburg workshop of Wilhelm Degen in 1825 and presented to Dowager Empress Maria Fiodorovna in August that year by Emperor Alexander I.
 

The Painting Study
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Живописный кабинет

В 1781–1783 годах «Уборная Ее Высочества» (великой княгини Натальи Алексеевны), созданная В. И. Нееловым, была разделена по проекту Ч. Камерона деревянной перегородкой. На ее месте возникли два небольших кабинета великой княгини Марии Федоровны. Первый из них предназначался для занятий живописью и получил название Живописного; во втором великая княгиня занималась лепкой и резьбой по кости, и он именовался Скульптурным.

Золотисто-желтый тон и золоченая отделка стен Живописного кабинета, а также декор дверей сохранились с конца XVIII века. Крестовый свод, люнеты и фриз были заново расписаны по эскизам В. П. Стасова художником Д. И. Антонелли (1791–1842) в ходе восстановления интерьера после пожара 1820 года.

На стенах Живописного кабинета представлены композиции «Весна» и «Осень» П.-Ш. Тремольера (1703–1739), а также украшавшие некогда Туалетную комнату Екатерины II медальоны, изображающие букеты цветов, работы неизвестного живописца второй половины XVIII века. Кресла из волнистого клена выполнены в 1820-х годах по рисунку В. П. Стасова в мастерской А. И. Тура и расписаны художником И. Бернаскони. На столе — светильник-миракль из бронзы и перламутра, изготовленный в петербургской мастерской В. Дегена в 1825 году и в августе того же года подаренный вдовствующей императрицей Марией Федоровной своему сыну, императору Александру I.

Живописный кабинет
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта