RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Portrait Hall

The Portrait Hall of the Catherine Palace retained its original décor planned by Rastrelli for two centuries. From early on it was used to display formal depictions of Russian rulers. The interior was completely destroyed during the war and was recreated from photographs and surviving fragments of décor.

Today the walls, lined with white patterned damask framed with gilded carving are hung with large formal portraits of Catherine I, by Ivan Adolsky (last quarter of the seventeenth century – after 1729), and Empress Elizabeth, by Heinrich Buchholtz  (1735–1780), who incorporated into his canvas a portrait made by Louis Caravaque, and also two portraits by unknown eighteenth-century artists – of Natalia Alexeyevna (the sister of Peter the Great) and Catherine II.

The ceiling of the Portrait Hall is adorned by a painting transferred to Tsarskoye Selo from the Yusupov Palace in St Petersburg. Mercury and Glory was, Italian specialists believe, painted by Giovanni Scaiario (1726–1762).

Giving an impression of the presence of Empress Elizabeth Petrovna, the hall recently housed the unique paper sculpture of the Empress in her official court attire (see below; now at The Romanovs at Tsarskoye Selo exhibition), made by the world-renowned Belgian artist Isabelle de Borchgrave for the exhibition marking Elizabeth's 300th Birth Anniversary in December of 2009.


 

The Portrait Hall
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Портретный зал

В Портретном зале Екатерининского дворца, декорированном по проекту Растрелли и сохранявшем первоначальное убранство на протяжении двух столетий, издавна демонстрировались парадные изображения царственных особ. Полностью разрушенный во время войны, интерьер воссоздавался по фотографиям и сохранившимся фрагментам отделки.

Ныне на стенах, затянутых белым узорчатым штофом в обрамлении золоченой резьбы, помещены большие парадные портреты Екатерины I работы И. Адольского (последняя четверть XVIII века — после 1729) и Елизаветы Петровны кисти Г. Бухгольца (1735–1780), вмонтировавшего в свое полотно портрет, выполненный Л. Караваком, а также исполненные неизвестными живописцами XVIII века портреты великой княгини Наталии Алексеевны (сестры Петра I) и Екатерины II.

Потолок Портретного зала украшен переданным в Царское Село из Юсуповского дворца в Санкт-Петербурге живописным плафоном «Меркурий и Слава», выполненным, по мнению итальянских специалистов, представителем венецианской школы Д. Скайярио (1726–1792).

Портретный зал
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта