RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The White State Dining Room

Passing the Main Staircase of the Catherine Palace we reach the White State Dining Room by Rastrelli that was formerly intended for grand banquets and also evening meals taken by the empress in a small company of intimates.

Since Empress Elizabeth’s time the walls of this room were lined with white damask that in combination with the gilded carvings gave the interior a special elegance. Nowadays the walls are hung with still lifes by Johann Friedrich Grooth (1717–1806), part of a large series that this court painter produced for the Monbijou pavilion at Tsarskoye Selo in the 1740s. The ceiling painting of The Triumph of Apollo (a nineteenth-century copy of a work by Guido Reni) complements the decoration of the interior.

The furniture in the White State Dining Room consists of gilded console tables and chairs, some of which are authentic, others recreated in imitation of mid-eighteenth-century prototypes. In the centre of the room is an oval table laid with an exquisite porcelain service that was made at the famous Meissen factory in Germany. This service was already recorded in the palace stocks in Elizabeth’s reign and undoubtedly adorned the tables during the Empress’s festive banquets. In keeping with eighteenth-century tradition, the table is covered with elaborately draped tablecloths, decorated with garlands of flowers and also a porcelain composition that resembles the Large Caprice pavilion in the Tsarskoye Selo Park. This item, created in the late 1760s at the Imperial Porcelain Manufactory (founded in 1744) is evidence of Russia’s high technical achievements in the field of ceramics.

The “trick” butter-dishes in the forms of a flower, a peach, a lemon, a pear, a pomegranate and an artichoke that further adorn the elegant table were also made at Meissen in the second half of the eighteenth century. The same factory produced the decorative scent vases standing on the tables between the windows. They are known as boule-de-neige (“snowball”) on account of the blooms that decorate them.

 

The White State Dining Room
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Белая Парадная столовая

Миновав Парадную лестницу, мы попадаем в Белую Парадную столовую, которая некогда предназначалась для торжественных обедов и «вечерних кушаний» императрицы в узком кругу приближенных.

Стены этой столовой со времен Елизаветы Петровны были затянуты белым штофом, который в сочетании с золоченой резьбой придавал интерьеру особую нарядность. В настоящее время стены зала украшены натюрмортами И.-Ф. Гроота (1717–1806) — частью большого цикла, созданного придворным живописцем в 1740-х годах для Царскосельского павильона Монбижу. Живописный плафон «Триумф Аполлона» (копия XIX века с картины Г. Рени) дополняет декоративное решение интерьера.

Мебельное убранство Белой Парадной столовой составляют резные золоченые консоли и стулья, как подлинные, так и выполненные по образцам середины XVIII века. В центре зала — овальный стол с изящным сервизом, изготовленным на знаменитой Мейсенской фарфоровой мануфактуре. Этот сервиз числился в дворцовых кладовых уже в елизаветинскую эпоху и, несомненно, украшал парадные столы во время торжественных обедов императрицы. Согласно традиции XVIII века стол накрыт скатертями со сложными драпировками, украшен цветочными гирляндами, а также фарфоровой композицией, которая изображает беседку, напоминающую «Большой каприз» в Царскосельском парке. Это изделие, выполненное в конце 1760-х годов на Императорском фарфоровом заводе, основанном в 1744-м, свидетельствует о высоких технических достижениях русского фарфорового дела.

Масленки-обманки в виде цветка, персика, лимона, груши, граната и артишока, дополняющие оформление нарядного стола, также изготовлены в Мейсене во второй половине XVIII века. Оттуда же происходят стоящие на консолях между окнами декоративные вазы-ароматницы, называемые по форме украшающих их цветов «буль-де-неж» (от франц. boule de neige — снежный ком).

Панорама из приложения «Царское Село» для iPad

Белая Парадная столовая
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта