RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Zubov Wing

The extension that became known as the Zubov Wing from the name of one of Catherine II’s favourites was built onto the Great Tsarskoye Selo Palace between 1779 and 1785 to the design of the architect Yury Velten (1730–1801). Its construction was supervised by Ilya Neyelov (1745–1793).

The rooms in the second storey designed and finished by Cameron and Giacomo Quarenghi (1744–1817) became the private apartments of the Empress and comprised the Domed Hall, Chinese Hall, Silver Study, Bedchamber, Blue Study (Snuffbox), Mirror Study, Raphael Room, Maid-of-Honour’s Room and Dressing-Room.

Cameron’s interiors formed an integral complex and were linked to the Cold Bath pavilion by the hanging garden.

The rooms on the ground floor, also finished by Cameron and Quarenghi, were used by Catherine’s lovers – favourites: in succession Grigory Potemkin, Alexander Lanskoi, Alexander Dmitriyev-Mamonov and Platon Zubov. Later relatives and close friends of the imperial family lived in this part of the palace. The wing had its own separate entrance that also came to be named after Zubov.

In 1841, in view of the approaching marriage of the heir to the throne (the future Alexander II), the architect Ippolito Monighetti was ordered to refurbish the rooms in the Zubov Wing. The apartment on the ground floor was given to the Grand Duke, and Catherine II’s former rooms to his bride – Maria Alexandrovna.

Alexander II’s private apartment comprised the Entrance Hall, Reception Room, Standard Room, Arsenal Room, Pantry, Asiatic Room, Study, Dressing-Room, Valet’s Room and Wardrobe. Three of them – the Study, Reception Room and Dressing-Room – were intended for official receptions and working meetings.

The floors were linked by two staircases: the first, Bosquet Staircase, led from a corridor to the Domed Hall. The same corridor was connected to the small Entrance Hall where Alexander’s apartment began. The second, internal, staircase linked the Empress’s private rooms to the Emperor’s Valet’s Room.

During the Second World War the rooms of the Zubov Wing that had retained the decoration from the mid-nineteenth century suffered in a serious fire and in the 1950s they were reconstructed for the use of the naval college that was housed in part of the Catherine Palace at that time. As a result of this work the historical dimensions of rooms were disrupted while the surviving fragments of decoration were removed and transferred to the museum storerooms.

Restoration work in 2001–04 gave the Zubov Wing back its original layout and now the ground-floor rooms are used for temporary exhibitions. 

See on Map                                                           Visiting information

The Zubov Wing
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Зубовский флигель

Флигель, получивший название Зубовского по имени одного из фаворитов императрицы Екатерины II, был пристроен к Большому Царскосельскому дворцу в 1779–1785 годах по проекту архитектора Ю. М. Фельтена (1730–1801); строительными работами руководил И. В. Неелов (1745–1793).

Помещения второго этажа, спроектированные и отделанные Ч. Камероном и Д. Кваренги (1744–1817), составляли личную половину императрицы и включали Купольный зал, Китайский зал, Серебряный кабинет, Опочивальню, Синий кабинет (Табакерку), Зеркальный кабинет, Рафаэлевскую комнату, Камерюнгферскую и Уборную.

Образующие единый комплекс интерьеры Камерона соединялись висячим садом с павильоном «Холодная баня».

Помещения нижнего этажа, также созданные Камероном и Кваренги, предназначались для фаворитов: здесь поочередно размещались Г. А. Потемкин, А. Д. Ланской, А. М. Дмитриев-Мамонов и П. А. Зубов. Впоследствии в этой части дворца жили родственники и приближенные императорской семьи. Флигель имел отдельный подъезд, также получивший название Зубовского.

В 1841 году в связи с предстоящей женитьбой наследника престола Александра Николаевича (будущего императора Александра II) архитектор И. А. Монигетти получил распоряжение перестроить помещения Зубовского флигеля. Апартаменты в первом этаже отводились для великого князя, а бывшие комнаты императрицы Екатерины II — для его супруги Марии Александровны.

В состав личных покоев императора Александра II входили Передняя, Приемная, Штандартная (Знаменная), Арсенальная, Буфетная, Азиатская, Кабинет, Туалетная (Уборная), Камердинерская, Гардеробная. Три из них — Кабинет, Приемная и Туалетная — предназначались для государственных приемов и деловых встреч.

Этажи сообщались двумя лестницами: первая, Боскетная, вела из коридора в Купольный зал. Из того же коридора в первом этаже можно было пройти в маленькую Переднюю, с которой начинались покои Александра II. Вторая, внутренняя, лестница соединяла личные комнаты императрицы с Камердинерской императора.

Во время Великой Отечественной войны комнаты Зубовского флигеля, до того сохранявшие отделку середины XIX века, пострадали при сильном пожаре и в 1950-х годах были перестроены под службы Военно-морского училища, располагавшегося тогда в части Екатерининского дворца. В результате этих работ исторические объемы покоев были нарушены, а остатки сохранившихся фрагментов отделки сняты и переданы в фонды музея.

После реставрационных работ 2001–2004 годов планировка Зубовского флигеля обрела первоначальный вид, и ныне комнаты первого этажа используются для временных выставок.

Зубовский флигель
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта