RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Girl-with-a-Pitcher Fountain

The Milkmaid fountain that has become widely known simply as the Tsarskoye Selo Statue or The Girl with a Pitcher occupies a special place among the park sculpture of the former imperial residence: it is the only sculpture that was created specially for the Catherine Park.
See on Map

In 1808–10, on Emperor Alexander I’s instructions, the gardener John Bush and the architect Luigi Rusca supervised work to improve the area of the former Coasting Hill. The slope between the Granite Terrace and the Great Pond was turned into a series of green steps; new paths were laid from the terrace to the pond and the outlet of the little canal to which the waters of a local spring, covered by the man-made hill, had been diverted was turned into a fountain constructed to the design of the engineer Augustin Bethencourt. At that time there was already an idea to decorate this part of the Catherine Park with sculptures, but the figure of the Milkmaid only appeared here in the summer of 1816.

The statue was created by the eminent sculptor Pavel Sokolov on the subject of La Fontaine’s fable The Milkmaid, or the Pitcher of Milk and cast in bronze in the workshop of the Imperial Academy of Arts.

Alexander Pushkin glorified the fountain in his poem “The Tsarskoe Selo Statue”.

A granite rock serves as a pedestal for the bronze sculpture of a girl. A jet of spring water flows from the broken pitcher lying at her feet to collect in the adjoining basin. Originally this basin was made in the form of a grotto entered by steps of Pudost stone. The grotto only existed until the middle of the nineteenth century.

At the outbreak of war, before German units reached the town of Pushkin, the statue of the Milkmaid was buried in the ground and for that reason the statue was not damaged. Today the bronze original of The Girl with a Pitcher is kept in the stores of the museum-preserve (the sculptor’s plaster model is in the State Russian Museum) and a copy, cast in 1990, has been set up in the park.

Panoramic view by www.panoramas.classic-ru.org :

The Girl-with-a-Pitcher Fountain
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Фонтан «Девушка с кувшином»

Фонтан «Молочница», получивший известность как «Царскосельская статуя», или «Девушка с кувшином», занимает особое место среди парковой скульптуры Царского Села: это единственная скульптура, специально исполненная для Екатерининского парка.

В 1808–1810 годах по распоряжению императора Александра I началось благоустройство участка на месте бывшей Катальной горы под руководством садового мастера И. Буша и архитектора Л. Руски. Склон между вновь сооруженной Гранитной террасой и Большим прудом был оформлен в виде зеленых уступов, от террасы к пруду проложили новые дорожки, а устье бокового канальчика, куда еще в 1770-х годах были отведены воды местного источника, скрытого под насыпью, оформили фонтаном, устроенным по проекту инженера А. Бетанкура. Уже тогда возникла идея украсить эту часть Екатерининского парка скульптурами, однако фигура Молочницы появилась здесь лишь летом 1816 года.

Статуя исполнена известным скульптором П. П. Соколовым на сюжет басни Ж. Лафонтена «Молочница, или Кувшин с молоком» и отлита из бронзы в мастерской Императорской Академии художеств.

Гранитная скала служит пьедесталом для бронзового изваяния девушки. Из разбитого кувшина, лежащего у ее ног, бежит струя ключевой воды, поступающая по узкому протоку в Большой пруд.

В начале Великой Отечественной войны, перед вступлением в город Пушкин немецких частей, статую Молочницы зарыли в землю; благодаря этому фонтан не пострадал. Ныне бронзовый оригинал «Девушки с кувшином» (авторская гипсовая модель которой хранится в Государственном Русском музее) помещен в фонды музея-заповедника, а в парке установлена копия, отлитая в 1990 году.

Панорама из приложения «Царское Село» для iPad

Фонтан «Девушка с кувшином»
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта