22 June to 15 September, the ground floor of the Cameron Gallery houses the exhibition Ruins on Paper.
The starting date is a reminder of the Nazi Invasion of Russia on 22 June 1941. After the town of Pushkin (Tsarskoe Selo) was freed in 1944, several famous artists of Leningrad (now St Petersburg) painted the devastated palace and parks. Over thirty of those watercolours and drawings are now in the Museum's collection and all put on display for the first time in nearly eighty years.
This exhibition is also a unique chance to see many of the damaged authentic details salvaged among the ruined halls of the Catherine Palace and the pavilions of the Catherine and Alexander Parks. Also showcased are technical drawings, documents, handwritten materials and photographs of the time from the collection of Tsarskoe Selo.
Exhibition open till 15 September 2022
Hours: 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Admission: free with Catherine Park Ticket